Sunday, February 3, 2019

The Ageless Beauty Grail by Sandra Bloom

The Ageless Beauty Grail
by Sandra Bloom
Published by Universal Brands
284 pages

Review:  This book is a holistic approach to wellness. It's not about beauty regimes and products, but about the causes for hair loss, inflammation, and even leaky gut! She also addresses how imbalances in our hormones can wreak havoc on our bodies and internal systems.  In The Ageless Beauty Grail you’ll get remedies, info on essentials oils, foods that heal, and much more!  

You will get a deeper understanding of ingredients in beauty products and what to avoid. Bloom also provides recipes for natural deodorant, toothpaste, face masks, home cleaners, and even air fresheners! I have read, from many different sources, that hormonal imbalances and inflammation in our bodies can cause all sorts of health problems. So, there is good information in this book. That being said, I'm no beauty expert, and with any holistic approach to wellness, it is important to do your own research and seek information from multiple sources.

*A DRC was given for an honest review.

Rating: 3 hearts!

Saturday, February 2, 2019

Write the Book You're Meant to Write: A Guide for First-Time Authors by Gail Woodard

Write the Book You're Meant to Write: 
A Guide for First-Time Authors
by Gail Woodard
Dudley Court Press
February 6, 2018
126 pages

Review: In Woodard's book, Write the Book You're Mean't to Write, she helps you identify why you want to write a book and if it's something you are ready to do - now or ever.  This is a great section for aspiring authors.  You don't want to commit to writing something that you won't finish, or to start writing a book without understanding "why" you want to write it.  In this relatively short resource, Woodard talks about 4 Myths many people believe about publishing, how to identify what type of book you want to write (Fiction, Nonfiction, or Memoir), and how to proceed and what to expect with each type.

She also covers how to choose between self-publishing and professional publishing. For many aspiring authors, this is a common question, and it's helpful to understand the differences. The main part of the book focuses on 6 Phases of writing and publishing, such as manuscript prep and requirements, cover and interior layout design, metadata creation, printing/production, distribution, and marketing.

The last chapter talks about what to do once you decide you will write a book and ideas to get started. This handy little resource is definitely a good start for anyone thinking about writing a book now, or in the future. I enjoyed the layout and information in this book and I would recommend it to someone who wants to write a book.

*A DRC was given for an honest review.

Rating: 4 Hearts!

Saturday, January 26, 2019

The Young Adult Writer's Journey by Janet Schrader-Post & Elizabeth Fortin-Hinds

The Young Adult Writer's Journey 
by Janet Schrader-Post & Elizabeth Fortin-Hinds
Published by Tell-Tale Publishing Group
November 23, 2018
199 pages

Review: The Young Adult Writer's Journey is a handy resource for anyone looking to write for the young adult audience. There is a great section on the hero's journey that is especially worth looking into.  The authors use examples of current bestselling novels and movies to help you identify why they were such a hit and how to incorporate those themes into your own stories.

Lots of advice and nuggets throughout the book that will help you to understand how to format and plot your YA novel.  There is also a chapter that gives insight as to what agents and editors are looking for when selecting novels to represent. There is even a chapter on how to market your book before and after publication.  It includes advice on how to create a brand, media kit, book pitch, virtual book tours, and more!   Definitely a useful handbook for aspiring writers or current authors who want to revamp their stories.

*A DRC was received for an honest review.

Rating: 4 Hearts!